A bit about the building
The parish church of Yoxall stands in the centre of the village slightly back from the main road which originally followed the course of the Swarbourn river.
By tradition the church is believed to be of Saxon origin, although there is no documentation to that effect, or mention of a church in Yoxall in the Domesday Book (1086). The earliest existing feature of the church, the only stone building in the village, is the south doorway attributed by reason of its capital and arch to about 1200.
Few documents exist by which the development of the church can be traced from its origin in about 1200 to its restoration in 1865. However, since this time there have been many additions to the church.
There is no documentary evidence for the name of Yoxall parish church in the medieval period and the name St Peter does not appear until the 18th century. Between 1558 and 1562, however, eight Yoxall testators asked to be buried in the church or churchyard of St. Swithin. Therefore, it is not impossible that the original dedication of the church was to St. Swithin and in the 15th century Yoxall fair was held on 2nd July, which was St Swithin’s Day.
If you would like to learn more about the fascinating history of our beautiful church please purchase a copy of ‘A guide to the Church of St Peter’ which is available in church and provides a guided tour alongside more detailed information on specific aspects such as its clergy, architecture and evolution.